Notre Dame head football coach Brian Kelly was named the AP Coach of the Year on Monday. He led the Fighting Irish to an undefeated season and a trip to the ​College Football Playoff. The voting largely came down to Kelly, Nick Saban and Dabo Swinney.

All three head coaches led their squads to undefeated seasons and trips to the CFP. This is the second time Kelly has won AP coach of the year. He also did so in 2012 when he went undefeated through the regular season.

As many on social media were quick to point out, Nick Saban was just as deserving if not more deserving of the honor. 

His high-flying offense and always stingy defense led Bama to yet another SEC title and No. 1 seed in the CFP. Not to mention he groomed his signal-caller, Tua Tagovailoa, into a stellar year and a Heisman finalist.

Regardless of how dominant Bama has been this season, outside of the SEC title game, Notre Dame truly impressed. 

Ian Book took over the starting QB job for Brandon Wimbush and had the offense rockin' throughout the year. Now, with Kelly leading the charge, the Irish will look to shock the country in the CFP.